Makt

Confound it! The batteries are dead!

More Random Thoughts

leave a comment »

There are a lot of half-written, half-finished ideas in my draft-box, and since that is a really annoying feeling I feel the need to type down some of them in a strange mix of randomness. Being only half-finished they might also be half-way completed. But I’ll post them regardlessly, as a follow up for my previously posted random thoughts.

Coincidentally Meeting Strange Words You Just Got to Know

As if the world somehow revolves around me, sometimes after I’ve learned a new word or a new meaning to a sentence I just meet it all the time. I see it everywhere. As if the word/sentence is hunting me. It happened recently after French class where I learned the word “sang-froid”, which means “to keep your cool” or to be difficult to put off. The same day I read it in the book I’m reading. If my teacher hadn’t told me I would have thought it was some strange Asian Fang Shui-word.

The same thing happened to a line in the bible, which have suddenly appeared all over me in films and series. It’s the quote from 1 Corinthians 13:11: “When I was a child, I spoke like a child, thought like a child, and reasoned like a child. When I became a man, I gave up my childish ways”. And really, I have to say, that is not a cool enough quote to appear around me twice a month.

But still these coincidental meetings are very, very fascinating.

Certification

You need a licence to drive, a licence to kill (legally), a licence to own a dog, but somehow you do not need a licence to get a kid, or to be elected into a seat of political power. Why is that? To be kind of elitist I just want to say that I think we should have some kind of certification to do stuff. To do most things. Anything important at least. Like voting or getting a kid. There are so many people out there not fit to do things, and it’s not really about restricting people, but making sure the smartest possible actions are taken. For example we should make sure future parents are good, so that the lives of the children of tomorrow will be as good as possible. We should have a license for stuff like this.

That really sounded horrible… Not the certification part, but the example. Ugh.

Stealing Words

There is this wonderful author I’m reading called Elias Khoury, and he says in his book “Gate of the Sun (or “Bab el Shams”) that we are all stealing our language from all around us. We are stealing our language, words and sentences from our parents and friends and grandparents, and the guy at the supermarket and the girl you see at television. It’s really a fascinating thought.

And in fact, if I think about it my English language, my strange different English accents are all stolen from movies and similar. My way of expressing myself in English (and probably any other language I’m not native to) is really an artificial compilation of everything I’ve ever read and heard in English. The same could also work for native languages, except pinpointing the source it’s stolen from is more difficult. Perhaps mostly because you’ve had so much more influence around you.

Written by Aslak

March 16, 2009 at 04:02

Leave a Reply

